The Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

HOME  >>  Hall of Fame  >>  Hall of Fame News



2011 Hall of Famers Elected
The Players Selection Committee of the Japan Baseball Hall of Fame has elected Hiromitsu Ochiai from among 31 eligible candidates in the Players Division prepared by the Screening Committee. The Screening Committee also prepared 10 eligible candidates in the Experts Division, and the PSC elected Mutsuo Minagawa from among them.

The Special Selection Committee, however, did not select any successful candidate, as none of the 10 eligible candidates on the first vote, or the four candidates on the second vote, earned the required 11 or more votes. There are 14 voting members of the SSC.

The membership of the Baseball Hall of Fame is now 173, including 35 living Hall of Famers. The 2011 Induction Ceremony is scheduled to be held at the first game of the NPB All-Star Series this summer. The site place and date will be announced soon.
"OCHIAI, Hiromitsu"

Born in Akita Prefecture on December 9, 1953.

After graduation from Akita Technical High School, he played for the Toshiba Fuchu industrial league team before joining the Lotte Orions as the third draft choice in 1979. The infielder led the Pacific League in batting for three successive years (1981-1983) and won the Triple Crown in 1982 at the age of 28. He is the youngest Triple Crown winner.

In 1985 he won another Triple Crown with spectacular statistics: .367 BA, 52 HR and 146 RBI. In addition, he achieved one more Triple Crown in 1986, becoming the first and only player to have won the Triple Crown three times in the NPB.

He played for the Chunichi Dragons from 1987 to 1993, during which time he led the Central League in HR (1990, 1991), RBI (1989, 1990), game-winning RBI (1988), and OBP (1988, 1990, 1991). He also played for the Yomiuri Giants (1994-1996) and the Nippon Ham Fighters (1997-1998).

Since 2004, he has served as field manager of the Chunichi Dragons, winning the pennant in 2004, 2006 and 2010. In 2007 his Dragons, though runners-up in the regular season pennant race, fought through the Climax Series and won the championship in the Japan Series.

He threw and batted right-handed.

His career record as a player: 2,236 G, 7,627 AB, 2,371 H, 1,564 RBI, 510 HR, .311 BA, batting champion five times (1981-1983, 1985-1986), most hits once (1982), most HR five times (1982, 1985-1986, 1990-1991), most RBI five times (1982, 1985-1986, 1989-1990), most game-winning RBI three times (1982, 1985, 1988), highest OBP (1982, 1985-1988, 1990-1991), MVP twice (1982, 1985), the Triple Crown three times (1982, 1985-1986). He finished in the Top10 in batting 11 times, was selected to the Best Nine Team 10 times and was an All-Star 15 times.

His career record as manager: 1,006 G, 554 W, 432 L, 20 ties, and .562 winning percentage.

"MINAGAWA, Mutsuo"

Born in Yamagata Prefecture on July 3, 1935, and died on February 6, 2005.

After graduation from Yonezawa West (now Kojokan) High School, he joined the Nankai Hawks in 1954 and, along with pitcher Tadashi Sugiura (1995 Hall of Famer) and catcher Katsuya Nomura (1989 Hall of Famer), the sidearm pitcher played an active part during the heyday of the Nankai team in the latter part of the 1950s and throughout the 1960s.

From 1956 when he notched 11 wins, he continued to win 10 or more games every year (except 1964), through 1968, his best year, when he was selected to the Best Nine by earning 31 victories and leading the Pacific League in wins and ERA (1.61). It is to be noted he is the last pitcher to have won 30 or more games in a season in the NPB.

After hanging up his spikes in 1971, he coached the Hanshin Tigers (1976-1977), Yomiuri Giants (1986-1988) and Kintetsu Buffaloes (1991-1992).

He threw and batted right-handed.

His career record as a pitcher: 759 G, 221 W, 139 L, 3,158 IP, 1,638 SO and 2.42 ERA. He led the PL twice in won-lost percentage (1962, 1966), once in victories (1968) and once in ERA (1968). He finished in the Top 10 in ERA eight times. He was selected to the Best Nine once and appeared in the All-Star series six times.


Contact us

Copyright (C) THE BASEBALL HALL OF FAME AND MUSEUM All rights reserved.