The Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

HOME  >>  Hall of Fame  >>  Hall of Fame News



Induction Ceremony for 2006 Baseball Hall of Famers
Hiromitsu Kadota, Morimichi Takagi, Hisashi Yamada, Hiromori Kawashima and Yasumitsu Toyoda  were inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in the ceremony held preceding to and during the first game of the 2006 All-Star Games at Jingu Stadium on Friday, July 21, 2006. It was the first time that the ceremony was divided into two parts.  In the first part of the ceremony held in the infield preceding to the start of the game, Yasuchika Negoro, Chairman of the Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, awarded the five Hall of Famers a replica of the plaque which will be hanged at the Baseball Hall of Fame. All of the All-Stars and managers were lined on the foul lines and gave them warm congratulations.

When the bottom of 5th inning was over, the five Hall of Famers were shown to the playing ground again and given a bouquet from their dearest acquaintance: Hiromitsu Kadota from Masaichi Kaneda (1988 HOF), Morimichi Takagi from Shigeru Sugishita (1985 HOF), Hisashi Yamada from Toshiharu Ueda (2003 HOF), Hiromori Kawashima from Hajime Toyokura (President of the CL) and Yasumitsu Toyoda from Tadao Koike (President of the PL). They were given a standing ovation from the spectators in the stands and All-Stars in the playing field.

(Click the photo to enlarge it)

Watched by capacity of spectators, managers and All-Stars Induction ceremony

Kadota honored Takagi honored

Yamada honored Kawashima honored

Toyoda honored 2006 Hall of Famers

Okada and Ochiai cogratulate Kawashima and Toyoda Hall of Famers receiving a bouquet

Hall of Famers with their bouquet presenters The ceremony over


Contact us

Copyright (C) THE BASEBALL HALL OF FAME AND MUSEUM All rights reserved.